The Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribal Natural Resources Department is comprised of three Divisions.  The Division of Environmental Protection, the Division of Fish, Wildlife, Recreation, and Conservation, and the Division of Water.   The Department is home to over 140 employees located in three facilities within the communities of Ronan, and Polson, MT.

The Department Head serves on the Lake County Solid Waste Board as appointed by the Tribal Council in 2004, as well as the Flathead Basin Commission, Crown Managers Partnership, Roundtable of the Crown of the Continent, and the Columbia River Treaty Sovereign Review Team.

Flathead Basin Commission:
Crown Managers Partnership:
Rountable of the Crown of the Conintent:
Columbia River Treaty:
Lake County Solid Waste Board:

In January 2010, the Department Head was appointed by the United States Environmental Protection Administrator Lisa Jackson to serve a two-year appointment representing all Federally Recognized Tribal Nations on the Federal Children's Health Protection Advisory Committee. The committee meets three times a year in Washington DC.

The Natural Resources Department Ordinance 78B is an umbrella ordinance that defines the overall policy of natural resource management on the Flathead Reservation.

The ordinance states: It is the purpose and policy of the Tribal Council of the Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes of the Flathead Reservation (to)

  1. define and manage the natural resources of the Flathead Reservation to the benefit of the members of the Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes and, thereby, of all the residents of the Flathead Reservation;
  2. maintain a careful balance between the development of and the protection of natural resources on the Flathead Reservation;
  3. direct and coordinate all feasible technical and administrative expertise toward sound natural resource management on the Flathead Reservation.

The ordinance also describes the organizational structure, duties, powers and special functions of the Tribal Natural Resources Department.